Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > South America
Reload this Page >

Can I live 3-6 months in Latin America and write from there?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8th, 2014, 02:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello! I am a freelance and contract writer. I would like to live anywhere from three to six months each year somewhere in Central or South America. I would actually be writing while there, but my money gets deposited in my accounts in US/Canada. Would that be legal?

And any advice on where to visit with the idea of living part-time there would also be appreciated. Here's what I'm looking for:
Safety
Cost
Vibrant arts community
Culture
Live music, dancing
Cafes

A beach would also be great.

Thank you all!
Old Jan 8th, 2014, 07:38 PM

I doubt anyone here can give you the definitive answer to your "Would that be legal?" question. It's a gray area for one thing. Too many countries for another.

You're always limited in the amount of time you can spend in one country. Costa Rica is 90 days, after which you have to leave and can come back for another 90 days. Guatemala/Honduras/El Salvador/Nicaragua jointly allow 90 days. Ecuador gives you 90 days in a calendar year, period. Those are examples. You'd have to look into them.
Old Jan 8th, 2014, 10:44 PM

I think if you are getting paid by client in in your home country rather than the country you are visiting then there would not be a problem ( indeed, how would anyone know anyway?). If you were living in Ecuador for example, you would find it impossible to invoice anyone without the appropriate tax number etc. I imagine that would be the case in most other countries as well. Whether it is strictly legal would depend upon the laws of the country you were in and clearly there are a lot of countries in SA and you would have to decide which country first and then research the practicalities.