Itinerary check for Peru (family trip)

Old Apr 15th, 2021, 05:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Itinerary check for Peru (family trip)

Good morning,

We are going to Peru either this July 2021 or July 2022 for 2-3 weeks (flexible). One my favorite activities is planning trips, I find is so relaxing after a day of work, while the children are sleeping, with a glass of sauvignon blanc.

I read some of the trip reports and questions about Peru and once I am done posting, I will probable read more since today is my day off. About us: we are a family of four, two adults and two children 5 and 8 years old. Children are competitive figure skaters. I mention it because they have no problem hiking for several hours at a time and will outpace my husband. For this Peru trip we will be joined (part of the way) by my younger sister and my sister in law with her boyfriend. All adults are vaccinated against Covid. I am an Emergency Physician and I have been on the frontline since the pandemic began in the US in March 2020.

I like to do my itinerary in terms of nights:

July 13th night: either in Lima or Ollantaytambo depending on flights (coming from Florida). Probably Lima.

July 14th-July 17th: 4 nights in Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley to acclimate. Staying at El Albergue. Hiring a guide? (Percy comes highly recommended on this site). Moray, Maras salt pool, Pisac market, horseback ride, bicycle ride, cooking class? Anything else?

July 18th-21rst: 5D/4N Inca trail hike with Alpaca Expedition. Currently only the 2D/1N is open but I am praying the Inca Gods that it opens up in July. We hired an extra dedicated porter just for the 5 years old. Originally she was going to take the train up with my husband and skip the hike. But after corresponding with Raul from Alpaca, we made the decision to bring her along. Pick up will be in Ollantaytambo on the morning of the 18th so there is no backtracking.