Corona Virus in South America fears

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 27th, 2020, 09:35 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are headed to South America on March 10 for a 21-day cruise to Peru, Chile and Argentina. I am concerned about the Corona Virus crossing over to those countries and being on a cruise ship. Anyone else traveling on cruise in March with the same concerns? We would lose 100% of the cruise payment at this point.

Old Feb 28th, 2020, 11:59 AM

I am not a medical expert but would have no hesitation to travel to Peru, Chile and Argentina. I would however not go on a cruise ship anyway, just not my thing. They do seem to be hotbeds for virus transmission, I have seen numerous accounts of norovirus outbreaks etc. on cruise ships over the years. I suppose what is most important is not where you are going but where your fellow passengers have been?

look at the statistics. If you are from the US or Western Europe, the chances are that there are more cases in your own country than in South America. If you are young the likelihood of death or serious illness are minimal. If you are elderly or in any way have a compromised immune system, the likelihood of serious complications is much higher. Apparently 26 million people in the US contracted influenza this last year and of those, 16 thousand died as a result. Does that raise any concerns?

People do seem to be throwing logic out of the window and panicking, mainly i feel because of the largely irresponsible coverage in the media and by some governments. Panic seems to be spreading faster than the actual virus.

Would you enjoy the cruise if you are constantly worrying about a virus, or can you forget about it?, if the worst did happen, how would you cope with being quarantined on a ship or elsewhere?

I truly hope that you do manage to arrive at a decision that is good for you.

Old Feb 28th, 2020, 01:08 PM