Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   South America (https://www.fodors.com/community/south-america/)
-   -   A week in Cartagena, mostly as solo female (https://www.fodors.com/community/south-america/a-week-in-cartagena-mostly-as-solo-female-908423/)

hetismij2 Oct 7th, 2011 03:20 AM

A week in Cartagena, mostly as solo female

My husband is probably going to Cartagena to work for a week. He has asked if I want to go too. On the one hand I would love to, but I am nervous.

I would be on my own during the day while he is working. Would there be enough for me to do there? How safe will it be as a solo, middle aged, not very fit female?
What about taking my DSLR camera? I am a hobby photographer and would love to get some great photos there but not if it means I risk getting mugged or something.

If I do go with him and we were to add a few more days on to the trip where would you suggest going?

Any ideas, suggestions, help most welcome.

qwovadis Oct 7th, 2011 05:32 AM

paisatravel.com/tours/cartagena_city.htm

Plenty to do for the experienced solo traveler

Review safety issues travel.state.gov

Take organized tours stay out of dodgy areas odds

are great u will be fine... Expensive cameras Apple products

are theft magnets insuremytrip.com always wise.

Lacasadefelipe.com Tayrona NP Ciudad Perdida is beautiful

worth a several day excursion for the experienced traveler.

Have fun!

Jeff_Costa_Rica Oct 7th, 2011 10:03 AM

You won't be lacking for things to fill up your time. There's a ton of stuff to see and do in Cartagena. It is one of the world's great sightseeing cities, and if you have the chance to go, I'd grab it.