Search

Drive from Rennes to Mont St Michel

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2023, 01:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Drive from Rennes to Mont St Michel

Hello Fodorites

On the advice received previously, I have organised to have an overnight stay in Mont St Michel (as opposed to a horrendous day trip from Paris) - we will drive to MSM from Rennes in the afternoon, stay the night on the island, do some more sight seeing in the morning, and then depart for Rennes mid-morning before the tourist hordes pick up.

I am a seasoned driver however I have never driven on the right side of the road (I'm an Aussie).

Any tips or advice re the drive from Rennes to MSM? I am sure it will be a breeze but thought I'd gauge for whether there are any things to be conscious of, particularly given this will be my first time driving on the other side of the road.
Old Mar 14th, 2023, 06:00 PM

If you can, see if you can just drive around a car park (or similar open space) a bit before taking off on the open road. If not, you miss out on the chance of getting used to the car. Also - try finding small roads to drive on - I believe from Rennes to MSM the roads are all 2-lane roads (or can be if you choose well). Less traffic to think about, also prettier (for the passenger at least). Bone up on road signs and road rules before you go. And take extra care with roundabouts or right/left hand turns, as it can be confusing which side of the road you turn into.

Lavandula
Old Mar 14th, 2023, 09:56 PM

We are also Australian and have had several trips with a car in France. I do not drive, just navigate. Lavandula's advice is spot on.