Search

Pacific Coast Drive, San Francisco to Seattle

Search this Thread

Old May 30th, 2016, 11:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pacific Coast Drive, San Francisco to Seattle

Hi all!

Next week, my husband and I will be driving from San Francisco to Seattle over 5 days, mostly along Hwy 101. We will be stopping to stay in Eureka, Crescent City, Bandon, and Florence. Then we are cutting over to Dayton via Hwy 18 to stay in a campground before heading on to Seattle. From Dayton, we will take 5 north through Portland to Seattle to catch a cruise to Alaska. We have a full day planned for the Redwoods in there as well. We are looking for suggestions for stops to make in the Redwood area, scenic drives, beaches/scenic lookouts, and restaurants. Also short hike recommendations would be great! We've never been to the Pacific Coast so we are total newbies! We're also looking for weather advice, we are from Florida so our summers are much different, hot and sweltering, not sure what to expect for the Oregon coast in June.

This is a our honeymoon and we are pretty active people- (30's -40s) so we are looking for outdoorsy activities, not necessarily shopping.

Thanks in advance!
-Kristin
Old May 30th, 2016, 12:04 PM

The Avenue of the Giants is 32 miles of redwoods with some development along its length. This is a turn-off for some purists. It is south of Crescent City on US-101.

http://avenueofthegiants.net/

May I suggest Trinidad instead of Eureka?

The weather should be glorious compared to Florida.

(Ex-panhandle resident)
Old May 30th, 2016, 12:13 PM