Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Weather Event in Costa Rica (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/weather-event-in-costa-rica-843598/)

jenwalker Jun 6th, 2010 09:45 AM

Weather Event in Costa Rica

Hi,
We are going to Costa Rica in late June/early July. I keep reading about bad weather/geologic events and I just want to get a handle on whether or not this is par for the course in Casta Rica or somthing out of the usual.

I have seen reports on a 6.5 earthquake last week and a 6.1 earthquake the week before. Arenal erupted recently and they evacuated the park. Manuel Antonio is closed this week due to storm damage. There is a yellow storm warning in Costa Rica and it says 1000 people have been affected by the storms.

Should I be worried. This is my first time to CR so I dont really know what to expect.

Thoughts?

KGDCR Jun 6th, 2010 11:32 AM