Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Tamarindo or Manuel Antonio for beach time in costa rica (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/tamarindo-or-manuel-antonio-for-beach-time-in-costa-rica-952763/)

umbiffers Oct 5th, 2012 02:44 PM

Tamarindo or Manuel Antonio for beach time in costa rica

I'm trying to decide which beach to spend a few days after time in Arenal. It's my first time in Costa Rica and we will be driving. I heard there may be turtles nesting near Tamarindo but MA sounds like it has a lot of other wildlife. Suggestions?

RAC Oct 5th, 2012 02:54 PM

What time of year? Turtle season is about July through November.

Manuel Antonio has superior wildlife all year.

umbiffers Oct 5th, 2012 02:58 PM

Early November

volcanogirl Oct 5th, 2012 03:07 PM

Manuel Antonio has tons of wildlife, and a lot of it is fairly tame and used to people so you can get close. You may have monkeys at your hotel. Ours had capuchins all over the place. In the park we saw sloths, monkeys, iguanas, raccoons, crabs, bats, and a lot of cool insects. The beach inside the park is beautiful. There are a lot of tourists in the area - it's a pretty popular place. Lots of hotel and restaurant choices. We haven't been to Tamarindo yet.

sylvia3 Oct 5th, 2012 03:23 PM

But: you have to pay to park and to enter the park, and if it's beach you want, it can get like Coney island.
If you are thinking Tamarindo, think a bit farther north and go to Flamingo or Conchal. Different (quieter/ less "hippy":)) atmosphere, less windy, nicer (IMO) water.

ELiz_Travels Oct 5th, 2012 03:38 PM