Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   SPanish immersion program (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/spanish-immersion-program-704598/)

anavert May 12th, 2007 01:17 PM

SPanish immersion program

I am an intermediate/advanced Spanish student who, of course, needs a lot of work on comprehension and speaking more fluidly. I have been taking college courses so have the grammar down but need the practical application. Are there schools preferably in Mexico that focus on this aspect. Or is it perhaps better just to spend time in a city using it? This way has no one correcting you and probably only short conversations. There is a lot of talk here about which school is best but not much about which way to become a better speaker!

shillmac May 12th, 2007 02:42 PM

It's a combination, I think, for best results. I study out of the country occasionally, but also make a point of speaking with someone regularly whom I can trust to correct me because they know I want them to. For years, I hired a tutor (mother of one of my students) to just hang out with me once a week for an hour to hour and a half speaking. It was very helpful.

I also found it helpful to work daily in workbooks--reinforcing the grammar.

hopefulist May 12th, 2007 04:39 PM

I'm an intermediate speaker (wish I could say I have the grammar down!) and get a huge boost from immersion schools with 1-on-1 teachers in towns where little English is spoken. I like to talk so with that combination I can improve my conversational ability more in 2 weeks than in a term of college Spanish. I've studied at 3 schools in Honduras and am heading to Guatemala this summer.

Dude May 12th, 2007 05:23 PM

A combination of language School, homestay, and cultural imersion plus trying to speak as much as possible has worked the best for me.