Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Solo Trip Tamarindo to Monteverde (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/solo-trip-tamarindo-to-monteverde-832279/)

SEBERHART Mar 22nd, 2010 09:18 PM

Solo Trip Tamarindo to Monteverde

Does anyone have a suggestion on the best way to get from Tamarindo to Monteverde & Arenal? This is my first time in CR, staying in Tamarindo, and I will be traveling solo for a few weeks. I'm unsure if it is best to take a tour (which one?), hire a driver, or stay in one or both of these areas while exploring? I'm fairly certain that I don't want to drive, not by myself at least, and being a female I would like to be in a group or with another person who is familiar with the area and can point out sights. Can anyone help?

colibri Mar 23rd, 2010 04:38 AM

Have you checked out Interbus shuttle service? It's an economical way to get place to place w/o renting a car. A good option from MV to Arenal (or back) is the jeep-boat-jeep transfer which takes you across the lake, cutting off an hour or so. Do a google search on it, will bring up various operators.

Don't try to do daytrips from Arenal to MV or vice versa. Each destination requires its own stay, about a 4 hour drive, 3 via the lake.

In Santa Elena (MV) a reasonable hotel is Arco Iris Lodge, great cabins and landscaping, many tours with transportation offered and staff will reserve spots for you.

Do an early morning hike at both MV and Santa Elena reserves, a night hike (several options), visit the Hummingbird Gallery - lots of MV options.

In Arenal Sky Trek is the most popular zipline, Eco-Termales for hot springs, Cano Negro boat trip for best wildlife viewing, also hanging bridges, La Fortuna waterfall and Arenal National Park hikes.

We like Arenal Paraiso, has its own zipline (11 platforms) and hot springs.