Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Solo Girl Travels in Guatemala? (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/solo-girl-travels-in-guatemala-813152/)

OutToLearn Nov 4th, 2009 03:25 PM

Solo Girl Travels in Guatemala?

I'm planning to move to Guatemala for a couple of months next summer or fall to study Spanish, and it looks like I will be going out on my own. Is this a terrible idea? I speak enough spanish to get from point a to point b, to ask for help, and to purchase things (high school spanish, basically, it's just been a few years). Is this a totally crazy idea? People I know tend to think so- I'm young, blond, pale, and fairly attracticve. But I've been to Guatemala once before briefly, as a side trip from Belize. I studied abroad in Ghana, so I'd used to being alone and experienced in dealing with aggressive men. Does anyone have any tips or advise for me?

Thanks!

cgenster Nov 4th, 2009 03:56 PM

I was there this summer and met a young woman from Holland. She was on her own, young, blond, pale and fairly attractive and was studying in San Pedro La Laguna for four weeks and then going to work with disabled children in a town outside of Antigua. She was probably 18-20 years old and doing just fine.

I would recommend doing a homestay and relying on your family to tell you when it is safe for you to be walking around on your own.

Latin American man are known for being macho and somewhat aggressive, our group experienced some of this at a concert we went to in Antigua. But if you are smart and careful, you shouldn't have a problem. For the most part all the locals I met were very respectful and helpful.

Good luck and keep us posted.

hopefulist Nov 4th, 2009 04:52 PM