Snorkeling Options in Mazatlan, PV and Riviera Maya

Old Oct 11th, 2005, 02:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Snorkeling Options in Mazatlan, PV and Riviera Maya

I'm tentatively planning a long weekend trip to Mexico next Jan-Feb, and would like a place where I could try some snorkeling (total beginner). I know the possibilities around Playa del Carmen, etc., but was kind of interested in a change since I was just in that area last year.

I've been to Puerto Vallarta and liked it, but didn't check into that when I was there so don't know if there is any decent snorkeling around there in comparison to Cozumel, etc. area or how far away it is.

I've sort of been interested in going to Mazatlan for something new, but am pretty sure there is no decent snorkeling around there from what I've read. Is that true?
Old Oct 11th, 2005, 02:25 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
snorkeling in and around PV is not very good, definitely not in the same league as the Caribbean side that's for sure
Old Oct 11th, 2005, 04:00 PM

For that area Mahajuitas is supposedly a nice day trip with good but not great snorkeling .....
Old Oct 12th, 2005, 04:52 AM
Pausanias

Consider Ambergris Caye in Belize. Laid back town, San Pedro, with excellent snorkeling nearby. Just down the beach from Mexico.

Old Oct 12th, 2005, 11:19 AM
Original Poster

thanks, Suze, even though I had read about some snorkeling in PV (some island maybe a little south of it?), I thought it really wasn't like the Caribbean. Is Majuitas one of those (I'm not sure where it is).

thanks for tip, but I'm not remotely interested in Belize, if I wanted to go in that area, I'd stay in Mexico.
Old Oct 12th, 2005, 12:05 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I think it is a resort to the south of PV, I'm not sure if it is an island or on the mainland. Maybe same as Yelapa which you can only get to by boat, even though it is on the coast?