Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   should i join DH in panama? (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/should-i-join-dh-in-panama-830318/)

lilaki Mar 10th, 2010 10:30 AM

should i join DH in panama?

hi fodorites,

newbie here to the mexico/central america forum ...

DH is off to a conference in panama city for a few days at the end of may. i'm debating whether or not to join him. neither of us has been to panama before. DH's conference starts on monday and ends on thursday ... we were thinking that we'd fly in on saturday and fly home on friday.

some basic stuff about us ... early 30s, well-traveled, go-go-go personalities (i don't do beaches/pools/etc.), from toronto, we don't speak spanish but know a handful of basic words/phrases and are willing to learn, we like food/learning about new cultures/architecture/history.

some thoughts/questions:

1. what is the mosquito/bug situation like in panama? i'm VERY allergic to mosquitoes and other biting/stinging bugs. i love wildlife but i generally have to avoid jungles/forests/etc. love the idea of ziplining but not sure if doing it in a rainforest would be a good ideafor me!

2. is it safe to go around as a solo female traveler? i'm well traveled and don't normally run into issues when i'm on my own.

3. any quick tips on things to do on my own for a few days? DH likely won't be able to skip out of any his daytime meetings as he will likely be with co-workers.

right now, i'm not DYING to go to panama ... airfare is over $600 from toronto and to be honest, panama has just never been on my 'bucket list', so to speak. i just want to get some other opinions ...

thanks in advance!

hopefulist Mar 10th, 2010 11:23 AM

Panamá IS on my bucket list and I'd jump at the chance. Just my 2 cents' worth...

raulpanama Mar 10th, 2010 11:40 AM