safety for single women traveling through Brazil

Old Jan 13th, 2008, 11:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
safety for single women traveling through Brazil

Hi,

I'm a female student in my early 20s studying Portuguese and will be going to Brazil for a month to travel about on my own. Any safety issues I should be made aware of? I'll also be in the country during the height of the Carnival season, any things I should specifically see or AVOID? Thanks!
Old Jan 14th, 2008, 08:38 AM

HI! Iam a brazilian guy,would u like to learn more portugues??? you can email me if u want.
Old Jan 28th, 2011, 06:45 AM

Please check the government website for human trafficking in Brazil. The fact that you've already been solicited by a male speaks volumes...
Old Jan 29th, 2011, 12:43 PM

If you are staying at hostels you will soon meet other people.

You need to exercise the usual caution in big cities: watch for pick pockets, be careful about where you put your handbag, Brazilian women often clip their hand bags to the table, and don't have your camera round your neck (this is a bad look anyway so should be discouraged!.
Old Jan 30th, 2011, 01:33 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Folks . . . The OP and portugues' reply are THREE YEARS OLD, and neither poster has been back since (heck -- maybe they met up in 2008 )
Old Feb 3rd, 2011, 07:20 AM

Well.. as a brasilian female.. Don´t be a tourist.. use light tshirts, regular clothes, jeans... buy clothes in brasil.. and don´t show gold stuuf, such as necklaces, rings... big earings... someplaces in Rio and tourism places it´s ok to have a camera... don´t have huge handbags... use regular one with ONE document, some money and credit card with PASSWORD...