restaurants in Panama City & Boquete

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 17th, 2006, 09:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are returning to Panama after we fell in LOVE with the place two years ago. Headed to Bocas del Toro, to Old Bastamientos. Staying at Al Natural again...too fantastic for words. Remote. Non-touristy. Absolute bliss. The Belgians who run the place are like bohemian castaways.

This year, we've built in some extra time to explore more of the country, and plan to fly into David, probably rent a car, and drive to Boquete for a few days.

I'm going on several posters' suggestions for hotels in these areas, but I'm also a budding food writer, and would love to hit the best, most authentic restaurants while in David/Boquete and Panama City. It doesn't have to be fancy-pants food (although one or two swank meals would be nice). More looking for authentic, local and tasty--street vendors, mom-and-pops, ex-pats, hotels, etc. where the food is tops.

Any and all suggestions welcome!

-Colleen
Old Jan 17th, 2006, 01:58 PM

Colleen, check out http://www.czbrats.com for some restaurant suggestions. The site is maintained by people who grew up in the old Canal Zone. Many have now retired to Panama to live and the recommendations are very current.
I stayed at the Panamonte on my last visit to Boquete and the food was excellent. I also recommend the Coffee Estate Inn there. Enjoy your time in Panama. It is a beautiful country. Ten un buen viaje.
Old Jan 28th, 2006, 04:10 PM

Panamonte has an excellent restaurant - owner is a well-known chef - Charlie Collins and while he's not always there his staff are well trained...
CMC mentions the Coffee Estate Inn - superb meals served on your porch by Barry and Jane but only to guests and with advance notice...