Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Peru - 3 week itinerary (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/peru-3-week-itinerary-574929/)

cailin Dec 7th, 2005 06:13 AM

Peru - 3 week itinerary

Hi,

I'm just getting started putting together a rough itinerary for a trip to Peru next summer (probably July or August). I would appreciate any tips or guidelines. My thoughts so far are:
Day 1 - arrive in Lima
Day 2 - fly to Nazca lines & back to Lima
Day 3 - Lima (museums, etc)
Day 4 - Fly to Arequipa
Day 5 - Arequipa
Day 6 & 7 - Colca Canyon
Day 8 & 9 - Puno, Lake Titicaca
Day 10 - boat to La Paz
Day 11 - La Paz
Day 12 - Cusco
Day 13 - Cusco
Day 14-17 - Inca Trail
Day 18 - recover!!
Day 19 - Day trip to Pisac & Sacred Valley
Day 20 - Fly to Lima and return home.

How does this sound? Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

cailin Dec 7th, 2005 06:46 AM

sorry - thinking of a slight change now

Day 1 - arrive in Lima (hopefully with some time there that afternoon). We may spend another day in Lima at the end of the trip.
Day 2 - Lima to Pisco
Day 3 - Paracas / Islas Ballestas
Day 4 - Nazca with overnight bus to Arequipa

SharonNRayMc Dec 7th, 2005 10:30 AM

Hi Cailin,

I see some logistics problems. A boat does not go to La Paz. Travel time from Puno, which is on the Peruvian side of Lake Titikaka, to Cusco is a full day bus or train ride, so you would need to add travel time from La Paz to Puno. You are looking at probably a day and a half for travel time between La Paz and Cusco.

If you want any time in La Paz at all, you need to adjust the itinerary.

- Sharon

cailin Dec 8th, 2005 04:06 AM

OK, thanks Sharon. We might skip Bolivia this time.

hopefulist Dec 8th, 2005 06:26 AM