One month away...nerves are kicking in!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 11th, 2005, 06:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

In just a month my husband and I will be boarding a plane destined for Costa Rica! With the help of this board we have decided upon a 9-day itinerary that has us staying at Lost Iguana in Arenal and Hotel Mango Moon in MA. Bug spray, light towels, water shoes, and sunscreen have been bought but now I'm feeling some nerves kicking in. The past three nights I've had dreams about giant male iguanas chasing me and alligators jumping out from beneath my kayack! (yes, I'm a bit new to adventure travel, and my husband is thinking I'm crazy!)

I don't speak Spanish and am wondering if anyone has a book or website you can recommend where I may be able to take my own "crash course" in the language. I really want to make an effort to speak some Spanish or at least order, greet, etc...it's really important to me and I have about 1-2 hours per day that I would be willing to spend learning until I leave in a month. I have already purchased a phrasebook by Lonely Planet but am wondering what others have done to prepare for this trip. It's really important to me to at least try to make an attempt to speak a little bit of the language while traveling there.

One other thing that is making me nervous is the kayacking trip we have planned in the Cano Negro Reserve for our first day there. Has anyone done this tour? It's a full-day, I believe through Sunset Tours and we booked with Ralph at GaiaLink Tours. Is it a gentle river? Any safety concerns?

Thanks in advance for all of your help. We will be sure to post a review when we return and photos from our trip. I do have nerves about it a bit but am sure I will find the peace and excitement that everyone speaks of on this board.

Thank you, have a great day! Christina
Old Jul 11th, 2005, 07:11 AM