Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

October 2006 honeymoon - el careyes, el tamarindo, la casa que canta, or villa del sol ?

October 2006 honeymoon - el careyes, el tamarindo, la casa que canta, or villa del sol ?

Old Nov 21st, 2005, 05:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time posting a question and can't wait to hear your responses. My fiance and I are planning our honeymoon for October 2006...and need some help.

Background - we live in nyc area and wanted to go to french polynesia/south pacific islands but can't afford it. We considered costa rica...we've been there before and absolutely loved it...but are worried about rainy weather and wanted to explore a new place. Which brings us to the pacific coast of mexico...carribean coast is too risky with hurricane season. I have heard a lot of great things from fodorites about the pacific coast so we are really excited, but overwhelmed with info and very indecisive!

We love nature (animals, rain forests, waterfalls, marine life, beaches) and like to feel like we are in nature (open air bungalows and open air showers/bathrooms a must)...but also want privacy. On the other hand, we also love luxury (private plunge pool/jacuzzi), and are somewhat high maintenance (clean food establishments, purified water, nice bathroom).

"Wish list" - We want to enjoy good snorkling, see dolphins, relax on a private (not-crowded) beach, lay by the pool, explore rain forests (esp. waterfalls and wildlife), go horseback riding, have privacy, access to good restaurants, and wander through local towns/villages (tourists are okay but not too touristy). Once again, we loved Costa Rica which had all of this.