Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

How do you manage paying your credit card bills while you are traveling on lengthy trips?

Search

How do you manage paying your credit card bills while you are traveling on lengthy trips?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12th, 2004, 10:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How do you manage paying your credit card bills while you are traveling?

I posted this same question on the US board. My situation applies specifically for a trip to Bolivia and Peru so I thought I would perhaps get some different answers on this board. I am a resident of the US.

I am in the process of putting all of our regular utility bills on an automatic draft. However, I am not sure I'd want this approach for my credit card bills. I know some of you plan quite lengthy trips and was wondering how you manage paying your bills while you are away. We will be on a 24-day trip in Jan/Feb 05 and I'm working to get our financial bases covered. (By the way, we are the type who pay our credit card bills off each month to avoid interest payments.)

- Sharon

Old Oct 12th, 2004, 10:21 AM

Unless you're really out 'there', you can probably pay via the internet. That's how I pay mine every month. You can see your balance and then pay off the entire thing or part of it. Really easy with a Citibank card. Jean
Old Oct 12th, 2004, 12:19 PM

Doing it by internet is the best way while you are traveling as long as you have access to it from any where in the world. You can also sign up with many credit card companies to withdraw the minimum payment automatically from your checking account for the month you will be traveling. When you return you can easily pay the remaining balance avoiding late fees.
Old Oct 12th, 2004, 12:51 PM

You can call them and pay in full your balance the day of your departure. Then they will bill you 30 days hence.Doing it this way negates any finance charges.