Costa Rica best use of 9 full days with young kids!

Old Feb 13th, 2014, 10:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Costa Rica best use of 9 full days with young kids!

Hi all

We are flying into Liberia in mid April and we have 9 full days in Costa Rica with an 8 year old and a 3 year old. We would like to make sure we see lots of wildlife - that's the plan - and would be interested in some beach/swimming time (maybe some surfing for adults). Currently we have a resort booked but we want some adventure and to see some of the "real" Costa Rica - I am a biologist so I am positively giddy about the wildlife! What is the best use of our time considering we do not want to pack up and move around too much with the kids? We can rent a car.

Thoughts?

KD
Old Feb 13th, 2014, 11:50 AM

Are you definitely flying into Liberia? Not sure if that's flexible or not. The best wildlife we've seen has been in Manuel Antonio which has a beautiful national park, nice beaches, tons of easy access to wildlife like monkeys and sloths, Damas mangrove tours, and tons of hotel and restaurant choices. For more off the grid, we like the Osa Peninsula - fantastic wildlife and hiking. We flew into SJO for both though. Sansa and Nature Air are good in country airlines. Check out Tulemar Bungalows and Bosque del Cabo for an idea of what the areas are like.

The Arenal area is great for adventure activities and has the volcano, waterfall, Hanging Bridges, Cano Negro tour and Penas Blancas river float, as well as the natural hot springs and Proyecto Asis animal rescue center - no beach though. The Lost Iguana is a nice place to stay away from town - beautiful grounds, hiking, and right next to the Hanging Bridges. Arenal Observatory Lodge is also away from town and would give you a chance at seeing wildlife.

If you want to stay in the Guanacaste area, Ylang Ylang is popular.