Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

HELP! I'm a Newbie -- How to Save $$ and get the most out of the trip?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 17th, 2007, 12:02 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,

I am making two of my first international trips this year and was hoping that some of the more experienced travelers who might be reading this could help me either a) cut costs or b) make the most out of the trip (e.g. get a good package, earn double mile points, etc).

My husband and I are leaving from Seattle to Guatemala City on the 23rd (flexible) of August then traveling through Central America to return from San Jose, Costa Rica back to Seattle on the 23rd of September (also flexible).

Then, I am flying to Nairobi (airport/country flexibe -- meeting my husband somewhere in Africa, flexible) December 14th (flexible dates after the 14th) and returning to Seattle on January 8th (flexible a couple days before and after).

Any ideas for me? I would be so grateful, and it can only bring you good Karma...

Thanks!

Ashley
Old Jul 17th, 2007, 05:16 PM

You lucky duck!!!

I use kayak.com for my flight research, but tend to book through the airline's site when I find a fair I like. Check out Spirit Air for Guatemala; I've read they've had some crazy bargains lately, $8 plus tax from LAX, for example. I paid about $500 from PDX (Portland, OR) round trip to GUA for tickets in August. An open jaw might cost a bit more.

Check out the Thorntree Forum for Central America:

http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/ca...mp;STARTPAGE=1

More budget-minded travelers (in general) than the ones who post here on Fodor's, so you'll find more money saving tips there. There's an Africa branch, too.

My best advice for travelers is to not try to move to fast and to PACK LIGHT - just a loosely-filled carry-on bag each. Let me know if you're interested in my packing list or in pack light websites.

Happy trails!