Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Diving in Cancun or Cozumel (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/diving-in-cancun-or-cozumel-375463/)

monsieur_houllier Nov 11th, 2003 06:48 AM

Diving in Cancun or Cozumel

I am flying alone to Cancun on 2nd December and want to take a PADI open water diving course. I am a total beginner. Does anyone know of a good cheap course providers? Should I learn to dive in Cancun or Cozumel? Being a single traveller I will be staying at Hostels - I know there are a few in Cancun but are there any such accommodations on Cozumel? Also is Belize worth a visit for diving and cultural purposes? thanks, Paul, London

Diana Nov 11th, 2003 08:50 AM

Without a doubt Coz. It's one of the top diving destinations in the world for a good reason!

As far as good and cheap, it's a vacation destination, and activities are very expensive.

Also, it will take several days, so you need to be staying where you are taking the class.

Cozumel has a lot of very nice, clean, safe and inexpensive hotels in the downtown area.

My recommendations would be:

1.) Take the bus to PDC and ferry over to Cozumel and stay there - unless you are a total party animal or shopaholic, Cozumel is much more laid back and relaxing than Cancun. OR

2.) Take the bus to PDC, stay there, dive with a small outfit there. The diving isn't nearly as good, but you can always ferry over to Coz once you have your shiny new C card in hand and see what diving is all about. OR

3.) Take the bus to Akumal and do the same as option 2. Diving is better, and you can find a small outfit to give you the "no pressure, no problem" Caribbean style of learning to dive.

Have a great time!

Owen_ONeill Nov 11th, 2003 11:43 AM