Costa Rica for 10 days - PLEASE ADVISE

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 27th, 2009, 10:20 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First of all, a kind hello to everyone as this is my first post!
I'm hoping to get some advice/suggestions for a 10 day trip to Costa Rica. It's my first time going and it looks like I'm going solo. Frankly I'm a little intimidated. I have never vacationed alone before, I don't speak a lick of spanish, I have no solid (or even loose) itinerary, and no hotels booked as of yet. I've spent countless hours so far researching plane fares, weather conditions, what to pack, places of interest, passport, etc..etc.. I'm starting to feel overwhelmed and exhausted. I finally just booked my flight and I'm due to arrive June 27th at 6:35am.

So where do I begin? Umm okay well .... Where do I go in a strange foreign land at 6:35 am once I get off the plane? My general list of "to do's" include hiking (not too extreme), seeing some wildlife (I heard about a sloth sanctuary and some rare turtles if I am lucky), beaches, general exploring and sightseeing, swimming, drinking, nightlife, socializing (look out ladies I am single ) And did I mention drinking.

A friend of mine suggested practically bypassing San Jose and immediately heading north up to the volcano (name?). He said I could stay at a decent hotel by the volcano for a night or two before heading out to my next destination which he suggested to be the beaches on the Carribean side like Puerto Viejo. Although I have no real idea how long it will take to get from one destination to the next. Is it possible to take a cab all that way?