Best time to visit Machu Picchu?

Mar 9th, 2003, 01:31 PM
Original Poster

Best time to visit Machu Picchu?

I am new to the Latin America board. I've been on the Europe board, but it's been a few years. I was hoping to get some advise on the best time of year to travel to Machu Picchu. I'm a photographer, and photographing the ruins there is a dream of mine. Thanks for any advise.
Mar 13th, 2003, 06:04 AM

Hi Cindra,

I do a lot of photography in Peru, and although I always make use of whatever time of the year I can get there, for your first trip here are some ideas:

January to May is the rain season (summertime-autumn in Peru), so Cusco and Machu Picchu will then have cloudy skies and overcast conditions for the most part. There are, however far less tourists running all over the place. January to March daytime temperatures are 85°F 30°C, milder nights (typically to 45°F 8°C) and plenty of rain.

From June to August, winter in Peru, days are typically sunny and warm. The temperature can drop to below freezing (27°F -3°C) at night in high camps. Rain seldom falls during winter. This time of year is considered the High Season in Peru and the time most tourists visit the area.

So, a good time would be June to September sometime around a full moon, if you are into the night shot, early morning stuff.

To visit Machu Picchu you take the train from Cusco to Aguas Calientes, a town at the base of the mountain where Machu Picchu sits atop. Buses run each morning from Aguas Calientes up to the ruins starting around 6 am (about a 20 minute bus ride). Sunrise is actually around 5-6 am so the regular tourist does not get to the ruins before sunrise. Also, the ruins are on top of the mountain, so once the sun begins to rise this area becomes light very quickly. That does however give a fairly exciting light show in the early day and late evening.