Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Mexico & Central America (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/)
-   -   Argentina - solo traveller (https://www.fodors.com/community/mexico-and-central-america/argentina-solo-traveller-587377/)

pdx_princess Feb 1st, 2006 03:44 PM

Argentina - solo traveller

Hi I'm heading to Argentina from Late Feb through early March 2006. I've done a lot of traveling, sometimes alone, but never to S.America. I'm a photographer, concentrating on "street"/cultural/portrait images. I'd like to spend most of the time in BA and possibly Uruguay. I know that the Tango Festival will be going on. I speak limited Spanish. If anyone could help me with some of these questions, I would truly appreciate it.
1. I have a nice camera, do I need to be worried, walking alone - taking pictures?
2. I'm thinking of two trips from the city El Tigre (day) and Uruguay (3-4 days). Hotel recommendations?
3. In BA, I need a hotel that is safe and centrally located, I plan to walk most places, but I don't want an American focused hotel, international is great! $$ mid to budget
4. Any areas I should avoid? day or night?
5. Tango lessons..YES!!
6. Spanish lessons...sure!!
7. Places to meet other travelers?

Any other info to share? I've read lots of the posting, which were great! Thanks in advance

cmcfong Feb 2nd, 2006 03:58 AM

topping for AVRooster and other Buenos Aires experts.

IgorVodov Feb 2nd, 2006 04:05 AM

1. I would not say that you have to worry about your camera while walking around Recoleta or Palermo during the day. Some of the other neighborhoods, like La Boca require a greater sense of self-awareness, especially during the night.
3. Try LoiSuites recoleta. You should be able to get their cheapest rooms for about $US 125 per night. It is location is near the Cemetary in Recoleta only a few blocks away from Ave Alvear.