9 days in Mexico, April, with teens?

Old Oct 7th, 2018, 05:23 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
9 days in Mexico, April, with teens?

Looking for a first time trip to Mexico the first week of April. We live in WA state and have a 14 and 16 year old. I'm not sure this is possible, but would love to be in a town off the beaten path and rent a cabana on/near the beach where we would stay the whole 9 days. Maybe rent a car? Would like to experience the culture and food, but also be able to enjoy the beach. Not knowing much yet about the geography, Mayan sites would be great to see, too.

Any areas that I should research? As you can see, I am just beginning my search. Thanks!

Last edited by giesen5; Oct 7th, 2018 at 05:28 PM.
Old Oct 7th, 2018, 05:36 PM

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Maya=Yucatan. So start there, geographically speaking, if Mayan ruins are a priority.
Old Oct 7th, 2018, 07:16 PM
kja

I strongly urge you to get a decent guidebook, perhaps the Moon Guide, which I thought better than the most of the half dozen I consulted when planning my time in the area.
Old Oct 7th, 2018, 07:29 PM

I 2nd the Moon Yucatán Peninsula guide, also available as an ebook: https://www.powells.com/book/-9781631214103

These Map Chick guides are really awesome, too: http://www.mapchick.com/

Since April is spring break time I'd get the guide and read about locations that avoid the worst of that and plan to book well in advance. My photos with blog links on the main page of each collection are below in case you're interested - all my recommendations are embedded there.
Happy trails!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/staceyholeman/collections
Old Oct 8th, 2018, 06:42 AM

The locogringo.com web site is a good resource for the Mexican Caribbean. Many beautiful beach towns, each with their own character, between Cancun and Tulum.
Old Oct 8th, 2018, 08:36 AM

Yes, the Yucatan Peninsula is where you want to be for Mayan ruins.