Disappearing Thread

Reply

Feb 9th, 2018, 06:42 AM
  #1
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Disappearing Thread

Hi Fodor's Folks,

On What's For Dinner thread today, my entry disappeared. When I hit 'restore auto-saved content', it printed YESTERDAY's post! Something is wrong.

I had block-saved some of today's posts but not all so lost them.

Thnaks, TDude
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 9th, 2018, 07:46 AM
  #2
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Sorry, not following . . Are you saying that posts have disappeared from that thread?
moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 9th, 2018, 10:40 AM
  #3
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 834
I'm also not understanding. It sounds like you had written a post yesterday and not posted it, so when you hit SUBMIT today that's what got posted.
ibobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 9th, 2018, 12:08 PM
  #4
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
The post is there on the 7th. Even if I forgot to post, would it remain overnight with computer shut down and new info saved? Lots on WFD, but if you get the chance, please look at some of the problems we are having losing posts. I have suggested that people block save their posts if they look at any links--that's when mine usually go away. The Restore doesn't always pop up.

Best, TDude

Last edited by TDudette; Feb 9th, 2018 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Best NOT Beset
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 9th, 2018, 12:53 PM
  #5
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 834
Originally Posted by TDudette View Post
The post is there on the 7th. Even if I forgot to post, would it remain overnight with computer shut down and new info saved? Lots on WFD, but if you get the chance, please look at some of the problems we are having losing posts. I have suggested that people block save their posts if they look at any links--that's when mine usually go away. The Restore doesn't always pop up.

Best, TDude
I'm sorry -- we are missing something here. If you could, please carefully and clearly state what the issue is. It seems like you are saying that you are making posts on the What's for dinner thread in the Lounge, but then when you next check the thread, they are not there. Is that what's happening? Are you also indicating that others are having such issues and are discussing it there? If so, please direct them to this tech support thread. Also I do not know what "block save" means.
ibobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 10th, 2018, 06:12 AM
  #6
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Sorry not to be clear enough. In the midst of posting on WFD, if I switch to a link (say for a recipe) someone has posted in WFD, I can lose what I've written.

I did suggest folks contact you and gave them this thread.

With my Mac, I can highlight what I've written and save it. As in Word or other typing software.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 10th, 2018, 08:14 AM
  #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,892
Just open 2 tabs in your browser, one where you are posting and the other for checking things.
AJPeabody is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 10th, 2018, 10:39 AM
  #8
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Originally Posted by TDudette View Post
Sorry not to be clear enough. In the midst of posting on WFD, if I switch to a link (say for a recipe) someone has posted in WFD, I can lose what I've written.

I did suggest folks contact you and gave them this thread.

With my Mac, I can highlight what I've written and save it. As in Word or other typing software.
You are not able to copy text now?

I looked at the thread and the posts reporting problems all seem related . . lengthy reply's . . one solution is to compose your reply in Word or NotePad and then copy and paste it in the reply box. Some appear to be losing
their connection while composing, which often happens on a phone and can happen if the browser refreshes while the reply is being composed. Using Word or Notepad would solve both problems
moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 11th, 2018, 09:16 AM
  #9
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Thanks for the suggestion, AJP. In the previous format, I usually wrote comments in Word while I scrolled down the WFD posts on the other. BTW, I tried that and it works except upon pasting the comments, extra spacing can occur after hard returns so I have to edt that.

From Mod8: "You are not able to copy text now? "... I don't think I ever wrote that. The problem is the text disappearing and 'restore' not on the page.

"Some appear to be losing their connection while composing, which often happens on a phone and can happen if the browser refreshes while the reply is being composed." That is a pattern I hadn't looked for but shouldn't one be able to restore part of what was written was auto-saved? How often does auto-save occur? And why wouldn't 'restore' appear on the screen right after an auto-save?

Thanks very much for all the time you "guys" have taken with this, TDude
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 11th, 2018, 10:10 AM
  #10
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
PS--I did my posts on Word and pasted them into WFD. Kindly see how the double spacing translated. Thanks, TDude.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 11th, 2018, 11:40 AM
  #11
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Another thing (still in WFD), the 'Go to Page...' doesn't always go to the page indicated. Unless 'replies' is different? When I go to my posts, there are 228 replies indicated. When i go to the post and type in 228, it takes me to #221.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 11th, 2018, 12:07 PM
  #12
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Originally Posted by TDudette View Post
PS--I did my posts on Word and pasted them into WFD. Kindly see how the double spacing translated. Thanks, TDude.
What version of Word are you using? No double spacing for me with formatting like this




This copied from Word and pasted here:

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Last edited by moderator8; Feb 11th, 2018 at 12:30 PM.
moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 12th, 2018, 04:43 AM
  #13
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Word for Mac 2008. Try a double space and see what that does, please.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 12th, 2018, 05:35 AM
  #14
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Hhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I don't speak Apple very well . . can you see an option for line spacing?
moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 12th, 2018, 06:10 AM
  #15
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Another thought . .

In My Settings . . Options . . near the bottom, which editor do you have selected?


moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 13th, 2018, 04:31 AM
  #16
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
OK, switched from Full CKEditor

Stay tuned and again, thanks!
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 13th, 2018, 05:00 AM
  #17
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
It worked for the spacing! Yay. Unfortunately, the smileys icon disappeared.

What to do, what to do.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 13th, 2018, 05:19 AM
  #18
Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 721
Click Go Advanced".

Last edited by moderator8; Feb 13th, 2018 at 10:33 AM.
moderator8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Feb 13th, 2018, 12:15 PM
  #19
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20,980
Thanks.
TDudette is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:32 PM.