Luggage in Europe

Old Feb 16th, 2006, 05:22 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Luggage in Europe

As some of you remember, I just planned my honeymoon for Austria and Italy. I have been using the same suitcase for 8 years and on last year's trip to Selvacava, it finally saw its last voyage.

I am not sure if this is the right forum, but I was wondering if there are any recommendations on a good decent size and durable suitcase to use or if there are any websites where I can reserach this topic.

Thank you in advance.
Old Feb 16th, 2006, 05:42 AM
ira

Hi N,

Lots of folks have suggested that a 21" rollaboard is the best one to have.

Old Feb 16th, 2006, 05:49 AM

I've purchased some things at ebags.com, and have found their selection and prices to be very good.
Old Feb 16th, 2006, 06:10 AM

A company that always scores very well in tests reported in the press is TravelPro. I believe that company is also very popular with airline crews. There was a related article in last Friday's Wall Street Journal which rated various wheeled bags; not sure if you can see in online. Although I must say that unless you travel for much of the year, I would think that a good bag should last longer than eight years. My old bags were Lark, which lasted a good 20 years of very frequent travel; I now use Andiamo, which are going strong after about 5-6 years.
Old Feb 16th, 2006, 06:18 AM

Further to my earlier post, I agree that TravelPro bags are excellent. I purchased one a couple of years ago and it is excellent.
Old Feb 16th, 2006, 06:28 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
I've had really cheap bags and pretty expensive ones - but my old reliable TravelPro 19 inch rollaboard works best for me. Every feature I want and none of the extras I don't need.

But 19 inches might be too small if you aren't a packing nazi (as I've been called more than once on this forum)