Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Young Adults traveling to South of France and Italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/young-adults-traveling-to-south-of-france-and-italy-995850/)

sharsen Oct 23rd, 2013 06:42 AM

Young Adults traveling to South of France and Italy

I am looking for a good itinerary for a group of 20 year olds traveling to Europe for the first time. We are travelers, but total novices when it comes to Europe.

They will be flying into Europe from the East Coast (Baltimore/Philadelphia) and have a max of 14 days to travel.

My questions are the following:

1. Need a good itinerary for the Sout of France, Italy and Switzerland. Would like to fit in Paris somehow, is this unreasonable?

2. Is staying in Hostels the best source of lodging for them?

3. What is the cheapest/best city for them to fly into? Should they fly into one city and out of another?

4. Is the train the best way for them to get around?

I am very excited to help them plan this trip. I want to have them set in a itinerary and lodging before they arrive. I want the best ideas to keep them safe and have the time of their lives. Any and all ideas and comments are welcome!! Thank you so much!

jamikins Oct 23rd, 2013 06:55 AM

How big is the group?

StuDudley Oct 23rd, 2013 06:55 AM

Fourteen days isn't nearly enough time to visit Paris, South of France (where in the south - Cote d'Azur, Provence, Languedoc, Roussillon, Dordogne), Switzerland, and Italy (where in Italy - Venice, Rome, Tuscany/Florence, Amalfi Coast, Cinque Terre). You would be spending too much time "getting there" and not enough time "being there".

Getting from Nice to anywhere in Italy (other than close to the France/Italy border) is time consuming.

I would fly into Nice, and:
- Spend 5 nights in Nice. Take trains to visit the coastal towns on day trips. Lots of things to do in/around Nice.