Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Where to stay in Paris (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/where-to-stay-in-paris-1057207/)

wdwamm Jul 9th, 2015 12:06 PM

Where to stay in Paris

This is my first time to Paris alone as a female, and I am finalizing accommodations (staying a little over a week in late September). Much of my trip, especially at evenings, I picture myself having a nice meal, nothing too fancy, then taking long and scenic strolls listening to my music, and being able to stop along the way for glasses of wine and possible conversation. I want to be safe but want to have the option of wandering and staying out a bit later if I want. I enjoy the idea of both lively evenings meeting others and "having fun", but also quiet evenings alone where I can sit at a local cafe, sipping wine; reading a book. During the day, I like the idea of having options of closeby cafes and also a scenic place to jog. Again, I can walk for miles without it bothering me and only prefer the Metro if I have to.

I am strongly considering the Latin Quarter, based on what I've asked others, but want to double check. Also trying to decide if it's ideal for me to stay closer to the river or further away, what is easier? Appreciate your thoughts and help!

denisea Jul 9th, 2015 12:43 PM

You might enjoy the Oberkampf/Republique/Canal St martin area.

There are parts of the Latin Quarter that I love but some of it I really hate (noisy, kinda reminds me of a cheap county fair).

simpsonc510 Jul 9th, 2015 01:15 PM

You might enjoy something in the 6th. Lots of cafes and little shops, plus close to the river and Louvre. Great location IMO.

Robert2533 Jul 9th, 2015 01:28 PM

Depending on your budget, the 6th or 7th should work. I prefer the 7th.

pariswat Jul 9th, 2015 01:29 PM

Basically stay where you want to.
Latin quarter is lovely, but I don't like it.