Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > where to stay and itinerary ideas - 2 weeks in England/Scotland

where to stay and itinerary ideas - 2 weeks in England/Scotland

Feb 22nd, 2012, 08:15 PM
Original Poster

where to stay and itinerary ideas - 2 weeks in England/Scotland

I'm just beginning to look at a plan for 2 weeks in mid-June. The trip will include my husband, myself, our two children--ages 8 & 11--and my father. We would like to spend about 9 days in England and 5 in Scotland. The places we would most like to visit are the usual: London (I think 2 days ought to be OK for us), Stratford, Canterbury, Stonehenge, and Bath in addition to spending a few days checking out the quintessential English countryside in the Cotswolds.
My delimma right now is where to stay and how to get to these places. Obviously, we would need 2 rooms if we stay in a hotel in London, but I was wondering if it's cheaper or even feasible to actually rent a cottage for a week in the Cotswolds, making that our base, and take day trips to London, Stratford, Canterbury, and Stonehenge/Bath.
I also think that at some point in the trip, it would be amazing for the kids to be able to spend the night in an honest-to-goodness castle. I have read that the majority of these are in Wales, which I hadn't planned to visit because of time. Should I try to squeeze that in somewhere, maybe taking a day out of England and a day out of Scotland?

Any advice will be much appreciated!
Feb 22nd, 2012, 09:30 PM

Sure you can rent a cottage in the Cotswolds. Would be a lovely idea. However NOT as a base for places like Canterbury (the complete other side of the country)

"I have read that the majority of these are in Wales, "

Not true. There are castles in just about every corner of the UK -- and TONS in Scotland.