Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

When you come back from a trip to Europe, do you view your town, city or country in a different light?

Search

When you come back from a trip to Europe, do you view your town, city or country in a different light?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 6th, 2004, 02:02 PM
travelwoman

I sure do! Not to say that one place is better than another but after returning from a 5 week stay in San Miguel de Allende, I really missed the openess and friendly ways of the Mexican people. I also missed cafe life that I experienced the 4 summers that I studied in Paris. What I do appreciate about being home are the conveniences that I take for granted.
I also am friendlier when I am on vacation and I strike up conversations easily. I do try to be more open with people when I come home. Its not so easy here in Boston. Also when I meet people from other countries, I trully find it fascinating to hear about their lives and culture. Travel has really changed my life. I plan to do more of it

Old Nov 6th, 2004, 02:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, I also miss the abundance of outdoor cafes, the antique buildings, the church bells, the style of eating and whole lifestyle.

But I come home and appreciate all the conviences too. And my own home and bed.

I am a good traveler, I never get homesick. But I also am blessed to live in a community where people are open and friendly so coming home is not a "letdown". But always waiting to take the next trip.
Old Nov 6th, 2004, 02:19 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
What always amazes me is how much stuff we have in American supermarkets. I'm still trying to find a decent pub in walking distance from my home in L.A., but when our local neighborhood council started fighting a simple wine bar in the neighborhood, I knew I was sunk.