When to Go and To Tour Group or not

Old Jun 2nd, 2005, 03:52 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
When to Go and To Tour Group or not

Greeting all,
Let me say I am new to the web-site and have enjoyed reading all of the posts from the past few weeks, or most of them anyway.There is so much information for all locations and coming from seasoned travelers, well you can't put a price on the information that all of you have provided in the past. Now, to my one of many questions.
My wife and I are planning to go to Italy(isn't everyone nowadays)either this Fall, late October or early November or next March/April, all before the fares get into the high season. We have been to the UK, France, Ireland, both the Republic and NI, Belgium, Germany, Austria,so travel comes fairly easy for us. We are retired, me 60, wife 57.We were thinking of taking a guided tour for our first time, although driving and or train transportation is an option if we didn't take a guided 21 tour. What are your feelings both pro and con on 21 day tours and would we be better off planning everything as we have done before in Europe.
We would like to see Rome, Venice, Florence, Tuscany etc. Looking forward to some kind responses.
Richard
Old Jun 2nd, 2005, 04:31 PM

Since you are not a novice European traveler, I would say do the trip on your own using train/bus travel. You will find it quite easy to navigate to those places in Italy that you mentioned by public transport (even if your Italian is limited or non-existent) and if you prepare yourselves to some extent ( guidebooks, web, etc), you will have more flexibility without giving up much in the way of the security a tour would offer. You might even save some money going it alone; at the least you will get more value for your money, in my opinion.
Old Jun 2nd, 2005, 04:41 PM
PJK