Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What would my French or Italian countepart wear?

Feb 27th, 2005, 06:38 AM
Original Poster

OK, I've learned from reading past threads that, with the exception of gaining admission to the Vatican, La Scala, and similar locations, I can pretty much wear whatever I want when we go to France and Italy in June (within reason) without encountering difficulty.

I'm wondering, though, what my French or Italian counterpart would wear as she goes about a day in the city, not working but perhaps visiting a museum, shopping, and dining at a casual restaurant. I am a 48 year-old professional and will be traveling with my husband and two teen daughters, who are far more beautiful and fashionable than I have ever been(my daughters, not my husband!)

Is the answer really black slacks and skirts, even in June?

Thanks so much for your input!

Feb 27th, 2005, 06:47 AM
ira

Hi b,

Wear whatever you would if you were going to NYC.

Upon arrival, go shopping.

Have a nice visit.

(PS your teenagers will be embarrased to be seen with you anyway. It's just the way they are.)

Feb 27th, 2005, 07:15 AM

No - it doesn't have to be black - you can do navy or khaki or beige or even white (if you're slim enough). The key is not just the color but the fabric the line and the cut. You should be aiming for simple but sophisticated in cotton, linen (I prefer the linen silk or linen rayon blends which don;t look like you've slept on a park bench) or perhaps silk for evening.

And it shouldn;t just be random slacks and tops - but things that are pulled together - with a scarf or a piece of jewelry or matching piping or something. If its just random slacks and top it will still end up looking like the local mall.