Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   What was the most nice/fun/romantic experiences with the French and other Europeans? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/what-was-the-most-nice-fun-romantic-experiences-with-the-french-and-other-europeans-44276/)

Becky May 13th, 1999 02:22 PM

What was the most nice/fun/romantic experiences with the French and other Europeans?

What was the most kindest,helpful, romantic, fun thing that the French did for you? I read the "help with a paper" thread and it did make me think, that, as Americans, (In general) we as a country, tend to sterotype a lot. So, lets' break free of these and share our best experiences. <BR> <BR>(I hope this makes sense!) <BR> <BR>:) Becky!

Mary May 13th, 1999 03:57 PM

Hi Becky: I have lots of positive experiences to relate. In Tours: The only hotel we could find at a late hour offered no parking so we parked in front of a cleaners and the space was metered. The next morning we wanted to leave the car and walk so I calculated the amount of francs needed, went into the cleaners with a sweater to be cleaned and asked the lady if she would please put francs in the meter. She replied "pas de problem". When we returned, we noticed the flag was up but no ticket was on the car. I picked up my cleaned sweater and as I was leaving, the lady called me back to return the unused francs. She had been keeping an eye out for the gendarmes and put francs in the meter only when the police approached. In St Laurent Du Var: We had a difficult time navigating around this city (close to Nice) and when we stopped a French motorist to ask the way back to our hotel - he said "suivez-moi" (follow me), I did and he led us to our hotel and waved to us as he drove away. In Paris: A Sweet lady offered us help with directions without our asking. She saw us reading the metro map and explained the best way - even walki