Search

Questions on European A2 Licensing.

Search this Thread

Old Feb 28th, 2016, 07:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Questions on European A2 Licensing.

Hello travellers !

I am currently a resident in British Columbia, Canada. I am leaving to Germany in early April, and would like to get my A2 License in Germany (or within reach). Currently have my "N" drivers license in BC, with only a few months left until a full license. Looking to get a Triumph Scrambler (limited), and have the money saved up for the bike and license. The biggest kicker is time. I will be in Germany for 3-5 months (depending on how difficult it is to acquire a work visa) and will be returning to Europe after some loose ends are tied up at home. Looking to have my full A2 within the first month of arrival for work and travel. How far fetched is this idea? And any info or suggestions would be well appreciated !
Old Feb 28th, 2016, 09:50 PM

I don't know how it is in Germany but for an A2 in the Netherlands you have to pass a theory exam and two driving tests. You have to go through a driving school for all of that. The toughest part for you would be the theory test, learning all the rules of the road and taking a test. I believe you can take it in English here, but I don't know if that is an option in Germany.
I am assuming you are over 20, or you can't get an A2 anyway. Over 24 you might as well go straight for an A and be done with it.
Old Feb 28th, 2016, 10:06 PM

Hi CooperCrazy,

I'm an American who got a German license a few years ago. My US license had expired, but I had 40 years of driving experience, so I got the abbreviated course (fewer driving practices).

It took me 3 months. And 1,600€. No, that's not a typo.