Reload this Page >

What to eat in London, Paris

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 26th, 2001, 10:44 PM
Cher

First, forgive me for this stupid question. I'm a rookie at European travel. My only experience, Barcelona. I returned from that trip, malnourished and dehydrated. I know, I'm sorry, but where I come from, the shrimp don't have eyes, I can identify the spices, salads are plentiful, and meat is kept refrigerated. Everything I tried, (except Dannon yogurt) tasted different. I think part of the problem came from visiting the open market and seeing unidentifiable animals hanging over meat cases with no refrigeration. So, what can I expect in London and Paris? Can anyone relate to this or am I just picky. <BR>Concerned, Cher

Old Jul 27th, 2001, 12:38 AM
gourmet

In London certainly you can experience everything from three Michelin stars to American junk food with umpteen ethnic choices in between. <BR>As for meat from markets, all meats improve from "hanging". Have a look at the book "fast food nation" to see how things are done in the USA

Old Jul 27th, 2001, 02:05 AM
Ursula

In Paris too, you can expect everything from fast food places to top ranking restaurants. <BR>check out <BR>www.parisavenue.com <BR>and read some articles about Paris at <BR>bparis.com <BR>If you should return home malnourished, then it's simply your fault. I wonder how that could happen in Barcelona!? <BR>PS: In Paris, the shrimps usually have eyes too!

Old Jul 27th, 2001, 11:05 AM
Miles

If you want fashionable food, try Nobu, The Ivy, Gordon Ramsay's Petrus. Look at the menus, if you like the food, eat there. Barcelona - how could you have gone wrong - the food at the Ritz is superb! Try the restaurants in the Dorchester, any hotels belonging to the Savoy group and any other decent hotel. It is easy for most people, obviously it is something which you happen to find difficult.

Old Jul 27th, 2001, 11:46 AM
Yank