What to do when there's a strike.

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2003, 03:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I am leaving for France in a few days. And I just saw a post about a possible metro strike. Can anyone please tell me what to do in the event of a strike? I don't speak french and wouldn't know even if there is a strike! I am a student and don't have the luxury of taking cabs everywhere I go. And also, I have already bought Eurostar tickets to London. Will the strike affect eurostar? Thanks!
Old May 31st, 2003, 04:14 PM

Even if you don't speak french it will be very easy to see if there is a rail strike : look at the croad in the stations and there will be approximatively 300km of "bouchons" in Paris and the suburb.
You'll see hundreds of thousands people walking.

When there is a strike and you can't afford a taxi, there's just one solution : WALK. (except if you have a bike or rollers with you)
Old May 31st, 2003, 04:25 PM
Original Poster

perhaps a better question would be: How likely is it that there will be a strike on June 2nd? And usually how long does a strike last?

thx.
Old May 31st, 2003, 06:28 PM

everything I've read in the French press up to today (online) makes it look very very likely that there will be a lot of striking on Tuesday, for sure, and especially in the transport sector. I think I read there is to be a big demonstration at Gare du Nord in particular, going to place de Nation. You will definitely know if there is one. If you can, try to schedule things you can walk to that day. Usually, strikes only last a day or less, and they don't usually completely shut down the trains or metro, but there are reduced runs. This ones does look pretty big from what I've read, bigger than usual. MOre should be known by Monday.
Old May 31st, 2003, 06:48 PM
Original Poster