Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   What should I wear to Greece in March? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/what-should-i-wear-to-greece-in-march-824643/)

jtuder1 Feb 2nd, 2010 07:52 AM

What should I wear to Greece in March?

I'm traveling to Greece (Athens plus Patras and Napfilon) in March. This is my first time traveling to Greece. I've checked on the average temperatures and so forth, but how those temps feel can vary greatly. So I'm not sure what kind of clothing to pack. What should I wear in terms of style and season? I'm in my mid-thirties and traveling with a group of students and college professors. My goal is to look casually professional while maximizing comfort. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

brotherleelove2004 Feb 2nd, 2010 08:21 AM

Light layers with thermal undies will cover all your bases.

travelerjan Feb 2nd, 2010 08:55 AM

For outerwear, a rain coat/jacket that looks OK as "regular" outerwear when it's sunny (i.e., none of those easter-egg colors!)... rather khaki, navy etc, that will look good both with jeans, more dressy pants and even w. a dress if that's in the mix. Then some sweaters, not all pullovers ... cardigans are easier to get on/off if it warms a lot. Cashmere is NEVER a mistake.

primeranoche Feb 2nd, 2010 09:30 AM

I like brotherleelove's advice. I like silk for thermals because they dry so quick when you wash them and they're like feathers to pack. You know, you can buy cheap, stylish lightweight clothes in Greece, super easily, so if you are going to err on the side of caution, bring warm knowing you can buy cool.

"Cashmere is NEVER a mistake." LOL! With pearls? Okay- but no twinsets, please!