Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   What do you think of this package deal to Paris in February? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/what-do-you-think-of-this-package-deal-to-paris-in-february-662611/)

bailey6325 Dec 5th, 2006 10:00 AM

What do you think of this package deal to Paris in February?

Please let me know what you think of the following package deal to Paris (it's a group tour):

Feb 15 through 19 (15th and 19th are travel days)
Roundtrip air from D.C.
3 nights hotel at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier (with breakfast daily)
Guided walking tour through the St. Germain area
Paris sightseeing tour including Orangerie Museum
Dinner at Altitude 95 on the 1st floor of the Eiffel Tower

My total price is $560 and companion fare is $1040. The trip is through ACIS - an educational tour company. I went on a trip with them when I was a high school student and they are offering this deal to me to try to entice me to lead a tour with them at some point (with no obligation).

What do you think of the price - is it a good value or would I be better off planning my own trip? I was under the impression that I could probably put together a package for a better price for Feb, but I'm not sure - it looks like the airfare may be more than what it used to be for that time of year. Is that true or should I wait a little bit longer to see if there are some winter airfare sales?

Thanks for the help,
Jen

wally34949 Dec 5th, 2006 10:06 AM

February in Paris--no thanks.

Why is the companion fare more than yours--or is that for the two of you together? Is that Air France?

sandi_travelnut Dec 5th, 2006 10:13 AM

I'd go to Paris anytime. Personally, I don't care for tour groups but you have to ask yourself whether you'd be able to go another time on your own and compare the costs. If $560. is all inclusive it sounds pretty good.

bailey6325 Dec 5th, 2006 10:16 AM