Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Whas' up with Rants and Raves restaurant reviews?

Whas' up with Rants and Raves restaurant reviews?

May 26th, 2005, 11:13 AM
  #21  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19
I hope you get the answer from fodors editors.
Let us know when you do.
Thanks
Joe.
JoeSlammovitch is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 12:14 PM
  #22  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 90,937
Elaine, There's no explanation that makes Fodors look good, except thats Jimmy copied your review before it was deleted and re-posted it later (which seems a fairly unlikely set of circumstances to me). Please let us know how this turns out.
suze is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 12:23 PM
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,107
I'm just posting so I can follow this thread, but while I'm here, I'll agree with NYCFS. I never use the rants and raves as it seems too obvious a place for someone to stack the deck. Guidebook info is notoriously out of date by the time it is published, let alone by the time you are using the book.

My preference would be a recommendation from someone I know well, and after several years in fodorville, I do feel that there are posters whose opinions I would trust.
Marilyn is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 01:23 PM
  #24  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,612
Here is their response:

"We do purge old reviews therefore you won’t see a review from 2001.If Jimmy wrote a similar review, it could be possible that this person copied and posted this review before the purge occurred. But we can not in any way know this for sure nor do we in anyway manipulate the Rants and Raves.
We appreciate your concern and if you wish we will try and find Jimmy’s email address and confirm his review but that is all we can do.'

and here is my response:

"Hi, it is not a similar review, it is word-for-word mine from three years earlier than when he posted it, and the price of the meal I had is very out of date. Had you not purged my review irretrievably, you would find that this review (and perhaps others?) has been plagiarized, and does a disservice to those who seek personal experience and updated information. I would like this review to be deleted, as my original was. Thank you."


I think their response quite weak.
It's not like I constantly pester them, accusing anyone else (so far) of copying my reviews. This is the first time. I can tell you that I will no longer suggest to anyone who posts on this forum that they also consult the reviews or post their comments under "Rants and Raves".
elaine is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 01:28 PM
  #25  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,612
more
I just did a forum search

in thread http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...=2&tid=1373766
which is from 2002 (long before "Jimmy" of 2004) I used my same text from my own Rome file to respond to a question on this restaurant.
I've just sent that to the editors as evidence.
elaine is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 01:29 PM
  #26  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45,322
Hi elaine, the response from Fodors, if any that is, is going to be very interesting.
LoveItaly is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 02:11 PM
  #27  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 34,738
Pppfffttt, to their response and your response was Brilliant!

I, too , look forward to hearing what they say. And now you have "proof"..sigh..how irritating !


Scarlett is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 03:18 PM
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 33,371
I'd be interested in their response also. As you know, I've had some "unresponsive" correspondence with them myself involving unusual computer things but not quite like this. I can't remember which reviews I've done on there so don't know to check.

I really cannot imagine why someone named Jimmy or anyone would have some interest in copying your review and putting the name "jimmy" on it. Plagiarizing doesn't really work if you are also anonymous, now does it. The only reason would be if someone from the restaurant liked your review and somehow had saved it and wanted it back up -- pretty far-fetched scenario.

I did have something somewhat similar happen to be elsewhere in cyberspace, but not on Fodors. I had written some posts about Paris on some travel bulletin board, as I do here. Later, I found several of my posts (word for word and I know my own writing) with new dates on a France travel section on some website that was trying to get started with travel forum/BB. Basically, they wanted to attract users and had no posts so they went to the internet and copied a bunch of posts from other boards to make their forum look busy. I can't remember if they changed my name or not--I think they did. Now I hadn't posted anything I was embarrassed about, and it was already published on the internet, but I didn't like the idea that someone was using my posts to get business, basically.

It's funny but I don't remember what happened -- I think I wrote the webmaster of the site but never heard back.
Christina is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 03:52 PM
  #29  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,612
I must say fodors has been responsive. Since I was able to provide the proof (via my old forum thread) of my writing the review long before Jimmy did, they've agreed to delete that posting. Doesn't solve the system problem, but not my job to solve that.

elaine is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 05:22 PM
  #30  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,436
socialworker: RE: Never assume malicious intent when incompetence is just as possible --

That is INCREDIBLE. I thought that aphorism was my own coinage.

Did someone else get there before me???? Does someone else on this board besides me work for the Canadian government???


tedgale is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 05:37 PM
  #31  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,697
this is one of the rules on Tomewiki

Langauge issues aside, never assume malicious intent in an action that might have been taken in error or ignorance.



cigalechanta is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 05:44 PM
  #32  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,697
But the Broadcaster rules say:

Broadcast engineers have historically had to deal with risk. Traditional Broadcast Architecture is based upon tying to minimize the relationship between threats and vulnerabilities. This should not arrive as a revelation for the broadcast engineer. Consider the following risk categories to solidify these terms how they relate:

Human Error. Human error is the most prevalent cause of "dead air time" for the any broadcast facility. Operators pushing the wrong button, missing a cue, playing the wrong promo, cutting to the wrong feed, etc. The self-protective aspect of human nature generally translates such incidents into "technical failures" are classic in our field. This is a special class of technical failures that cannot be duplicated and usually magically disappear when an engineer walks into the room. A guiding maxim for all IA practitioners must be:

"Never assume malice when the facts can be explained through incompetence."

cigalechanta is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 06:56 PM
  #33  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,612
I'm missing the connection here.
I don't think there was human error, I think in this case there is system error. Yes, the system was invented by humans, but this is not a case of someone pushing the wrong button one time.
elaine is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 06:59 PM
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,697
Humans control the buttons, so-I expect fodors to come forward and explain this to us....or am I being to hopeful?
cigalechanta is offline  
May 26th, 2005, 09:03 PM
  #35  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19
I think your being too hopeful.
I dont agree with too many folks on what is a rave or not.
Guess I got expensive tastes but some recommend too much according to being cheap.
JoeSlammovitch is offline  
May 27th, 2005, 11:56 AM
  #36  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,612
well, they haven't deleted the plagiarized review yet, so far they haven't been as responsive as I gave credit for.
elaine is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:43 PM.