Villa rental in Umbria & Tuscany

Nov 14th, 1999, 08:56 PM
Stephen Yip

Villa rental in Umbria & Tuscany

Hi all:

I would like to know if anybody out there have had any sort of experience (good or bad) with renting a villa in the Umbria and Tuscany regions. We are planning a trip in September of 2000 for a three week trip. Thanks.

Stephen Yip, M.D., Ph.D.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada

Nov 14th, 1999, 10:19 PM
Rex

Dr. Yip,

I will be glad to share with you my experience renting an 8 bedroom villa (very low cost) last summer (1998).

It met our needs very well, but many people might consider it too isolated - - over an hour for almost any of the places we wanted to go on day trips.

More recently, I have had limited experience researching villas for a future trip with a guy named Larry Hasse who has a terrifi web site www.domani-usa.com - - I have stayed in one of the properties he lists there (not actually in Tuscany or Umbria) - - Castello di Orvinio in the Rieti province just about 1 hour east of Rome (south of Umbria). This region, also known as Sabina is very much undiscovered and NOT so much filled with the art trasures of Tuscany. Still very cool, though.

Feel free to write me if there is any additional info I can share with you.

Best wishes,

Rex

Nov 15th, 1999, 06:27 AM
elizabeth

Hi Stephen - we have rented villas in both Tuscany and Umbria with great success. In general we've been able to find a nice, very private (a requirement of ours) villa within walking distance of a small town (another requirement) for approximately $100 US/day. Our previous European holidays consisted of driving and renting hotels/gites for 2-3 nights - renting a villa and staying in one place for a week is quite a different experience. We found we really got to know the area, and while we had intended to go far and wide on day trips, our world tended to get smaller and smaller as we explored "our" town and surrounding area.