Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Video/DV camera - Use one? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/video-dv-camera-use-one-725935/)

kenav Aug 2nd, 2007 04:37 PM

Video/DV camera - Use one?

When we go away, we ususally have taken our DV camera. Unfortunately, we left it on the plane coming back from Budapest in April. Luckily, we had trip insurance and our policy covered it.

Now, we need to buy another one. Any suggestions? Any we should stay away from? (We had a Panasonic which came with a built-in light, which was great.) We're not interested in the hard drive type. And price - $400 or under.

Hope this is an OK forum to ask this.

kenav Aug 3rd, 2007 05:02 AM

ttt

kenav Aug 4th, 2007 04:02 AM

anyone?

sshephard Aug 4th, 2007 04:45 AM

I have been shooting video for 20 years and have travelled to Europe for the last 9 years with a variety of video cameras, starting with a Sony Digital 8 camera in 1998.

This summer I took a Sony DCR-SR300, which is a hard drive camera, and I would never want to shoot tape again.

I'm not sure why you don't want a hard drive camera but let me try to sway your thinking.

Reason #1: No little tapes to lose

Reason #2: Ten hours of high quality video before the hard drive is full.

Reason #3: Amazing indexing. All of your clips show up as thumbnails in the order they were shot on the touch screen. Touch the clip thumbnail and it plays. All of the clips are also indexed by the day they were shot. So if I want to see what you shot on the 3rd day of your trip, just find that date in the index.

Reason #4: I import all of my video into a video editing program. With tapes, I had to log and capture. Now, my camera mounts as an external hard drive on my computer and I just drag clips into the editing program.

Reason #5: In-camera editing. You can look at your video and delete bad footage.