Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Venice and Florence lodging and transport questions

Oct 1st, 2010, 03:52 AM
Original Poster

I'm planning my October Venice/Florence trip. The current plan is I arrive 16 Oct in Venice @ 14.00 and depart 22 Oct @ 12. I want to take the train from Venice to Florence and visit there also. I thought I'd stay in Venice that Sat & Sun and take a Monday afternoon train to Florence, coming back to Venice Thurs. night for my next day departure. I'm searching the forums for advice but have a couple of questions:

Is it better to stay on San Marco and pay more for the hotel but end up paying less in transport fees? Like getting from the Lido to San Marco, getting to the train station for my trip to Florence getting around in general? I'm a teacher, so budgeting is important but so is the experience. I can find hotels that have decent reviews for under 90 Euro on the Lido and some even below 70. Compared to the minimum 150+Euro per night on San Marco. It's unfortunate that I'm going in what is still considered high season--I thought Oct. would not be--but that's my school holiday so I'm stuck. I did try to book some hotels posted elsewhere but already full.

Must see places in Venice and Florence? I'm not a shopper and I won't have a lot of time, so I'm looking at the historical places, art museums, walks, etc.
Thanks for all the advice!
Oct 1st, 2010, 04:08 AM

This is so confused it's hard to answer. You won't be paying more for travel from the Lido to the train station, the fares on the vaporettos are the same for whatever distance, you can even go to Chioggia on the mainland if you should want to. Look into the passes for various numbers of days, they are nearly always a good deal.