Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   VacationinParis Apartments #74, 197, 241, 120 - your opinions pls? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/vacationinparis-apartments-74-197-241-120-your-opinions-pls-922816/)

SeekFind Feb 5th, 2012 04:03 PM

VacationinParis Apartments #74, 197, 241, 120 - your opinions pls?
 
Hi All

Newbie alert. lol

Has anyone stayed in any of the VacationinParis apartments #74,120,197,241?

http://www.vacationinparis.com/apts/id_120.htm
http://www.vacationinparis.com/apts/id_74.htm
http://www.vacationinparis.com/apts/id_197.htm
http://www.vacationinparis.com/apts/id_241.htm


My husband and I will be visiting Paris in June and have decided on the 7th arrondisement.

Are the above apartments okay? Does anyone have experience of those areas/roads?

We live in London and this will be our first time in Paris so we are scared of getting it wrong. Please point out good and bad points. I am open to criticism.

Thanks in advance.

Scootoir Feb 5th, 2012 06:54 PM

Hello,

We tried last fall and in 2007 to rent VIP #74 but it was already booked. We stayed at a hotel in the same area in 2003 and found it convenient. VIP was recommended by friends who have used the company twice. The rue St. Dominique is a good street to stay on with lots of restaurants. I don't think you'll get it wrong with these apartments.

tuscanlifeedit Feb 5th, 2012 08:50 PM

Taking absolutely nothing but location into account, I like the rue de Bac apartment. #197

avalon Feb 6th, 2012 01:10 AM

I too would go for the rue de Bac . But the 7th is my least favorite arrondisement of Paris, too quiet and the transportation is hard to find!

opaldog Feb 6th, 2012 01:36 AM

I have never stayed in the 7th, but for the actual apartment I would go for the apartment with a view #241. I like to be able to see something when I look out the window of my apartment, not just the courtyard of the building.

travelanywhere Feb 6th, 2012 04:17 AM

I like the Rue du Bac apartment best for location since it is bordering on the 6th arrondissement.
Apt. 120 is a nice street with restaurants.
In terms of location and ambience the 7th is my least favorite arrondissement. It is too quiet particularly at night and not as convenient to other areas of Paris.
I have rented from VIP before although an apartment in the 4th and was pleased with the agency. It is great having the keys in advance of the trip.

HG001London Feb 6th, 2012 04:32 AM

Hey there, congrats on Paris- you will have a lovely time! I hope you dont mind me asking but whats the reasoning behind the 7th? I only say so as if it is just because of the Eiffel tower than I would maybe advise to consider other places too.

Just wondering as there are some other really nice areas you might want to consider as a first time to Paris. We think the Marais is a lovely part of Paris to stay if you were open to suggestions. We have also stayed on isle st louis (tiny island next to Nortre Dame ille de cite island) wnad that was really lovely too. Another nice area is the left bank where we stayed last time round, which was also very nice.

I'm sure the 7th will be lovely if you do stick with it and I also think the rue de bac looks the nicest out of your choices

Here is another site that does Paris apartments you might want to check out

http://www.friendlyrentals.com/en/ap...dation-221.htm

cw Feb 6th, 2012 04:41 AM

A few other comments for your consideration:

#120 has the bed against the wall, which is something I find inconvenient.

#74 seems to be the only one that has an a/c unit if that is something you think you may want in June.

#197 is in a good location as others have said and though it's in the 7th, it's not the Eiffel Tower part of the 7th, if that's what you're looking for. More importantly, it says it's on the 5th floor without an elevator.

#241 has a great view and I like that location. It's pretty residential yet is a nice walk in either direction to the 6th and to the restaurants of the 7th. We stayed not too far from there on Ave. de Breteuil near the Saxe-Breteuil market. I don't mind staying in a quiet area as long as I can walk to livelier areas in a short time.

Good luck!

ncounty Feb 6th, 2012 07:33 PM

I am planning to book with them as well. Will let you know how it goes.

SeekFind Feb 13th, 2012 04:16 AM

Hi everyone.

We were originally looking at apartments in the 4th through 6th arrondisements but for our dates, price range and our preferred agencies (paris best lodge and vacation in Paris), everything was booked up. So we looked at the 7th (not particularly for the eiffel tower).

Our price range is £150 per night.

We are aware of the americanisation of the 7th arrondisement and the fact is not as "Parisien" as the others but hubby actually liked that.

He also liked the fact that it is supposed to be where the expats live and is supposedly more wealthier than the others.

At the end of the day, we will be spending most of our time out of the apartment so we should be okay.

elsiejune Feb 13th, 2012 01:21 PM

Guess I'm the lonesome vote here for staying in the 7th. I prefer it over the Marais, St.Germain & Ile St. Louis, which I find particularly crowded and claustrophobic. Most of your choices are in the western part of the 7th. It is quiet at night, but I like it that way. Our schedule usually is to travel the city during the day and return to the flat for dinners in the neighborhood. The rue du Bac flat is on the 6th/7th border, so it's really a different neighborhood than the ET area, one with its own charms - and might be a good choice for a first visit to the city. Good luck, EJ

ncounty Feb 13th, 2012 04:42 PM

I reserved this one, seekfind. It was $210/night and I chose it because it was much larger than the others and we wanted two rooms since there are 3 of us traveling:

http://www.vacationinparis.com/apts/id_239.htm


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 AM.