Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Using a tripod in Rome? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/using-a-tripod-in-rome-514976/)

Nutella Mar 22nd, 2005 05:29 PM

Using a tripod in Rome?

Does anyone have experience using a tripod for outdoor photography in Rome? I am wondering if I should expect anyone to question or stop me when setting up my tripod in places such as St Peter's Square, outside the Colosseum, etc. Thanks!

rex Mar 22nd, 2005 07:43 PM

While I have no experience using a tripod, I think that no one will care in St Peter's Square; it's as big as a half dozen football fields. But you wouldn't try to set it up INside the basilica (or any other church), would you?

Outside the Colosseum, be prepared for the "gladiators" (in full costume) to want to be part of your pictures, and then expect that you will pay them 5 (or more likely 10, now) euros a pop.

Best wishes,

Rex

Jim_Tardio Mar 22nd, 2005 08:01 PM

I've never had a problem using a tripod outdoors in Rome, or anywhere in Italy, but they are usually forbidden inside.

As long as you keep your camera pointed at the tourist sites, and not any government buildings, you should be OK...especially at night.

Clifton Mar 22nd, 2005 08:06 PM

Jim, I hope Nutella doesn't mind me posing a brief question on this thread (and I'm not sure how I'd take it back!)

Anyway, I have never traveled with a tripod, but was wondering if you had a recommendation for a tripod suitable for travel? Was packing size, carrying weight a concern in your purchase?

NYCFoodSnob Mar 22nd, 2005 09:17 PM