Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

South of France and Italy for Young Adults

Old Oct 23rd, 2013, 06:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Could anyone help with a possible itinerary for a small group of 20 year olds traveling to Europe for the first time?

They will be traveling from the East Coast (Philadelphia or Baltimore) and flying into either France or Italy. They have 14 days max and would like to see the South of France, Northern Italy and possibly Switzerland. Please give recommendations on the following:

1.Cheapest/Best City to fly into and is it best to fly in and out of separate cities
2. A good itinerary - not interested in fine dining/Museums - they want to see sites! Would love to be able to somehow fit Paris in, but is that unreasonable?
3. Are hostels the best choice for lodging?
4. Is train travel relatively easy for them?

We are travelers, but total novices in the Europe area. I am one of the parents and would like to get them settled into a good itinerary. I would really appreciate help. They are VERY budget conscious!! Thank you so much.
Old Oct 23rd, 2013, 08:24 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
The dates have a very strong affect on the price
1) what sort of things do they want to see, for example Roman remains in France, Disney?
2) Travel by train is very easy in Europe and especially so if they travel the slow trains. Is that the sort of thing they want to do or will you be hiring buses?
3) Hostels can be good (especially if you book whole dorms) but there are also cheap and cheerful hotel chains that might do you a deal
4) small group,,,,,,, how many roughly?
Old Oct 23rd, 2013, 08:46 AM

I understand wanting to help as a parent, but if they're in their 20s shouldn't they be poring over the guidebooks and maps and figuring this out on their own (including coming here and asking their own questions)?
Old Oct 23rd, 2013, 09:51 AM