Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Two weks in Norway (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/two-weks-in-norway-339047/)

mistyal Apr 7th, 2008 06:48 PM

Two weks in Norway

We have planned this on our own & wonder what you think of it. We are healthy 70-year olds and like to savor places. 4 nights in Oslo with acquaintances. Train to Myrdal, N in Nutshell, stay in Flam 3 nights, ferry to Bergen and stay 3 nights. Fly to Alesund and stay 4 nights. Fly to Stockholm,stay with friends 4 nights. Fly home to US. In each place I think there are many possible day trips. We need hotel suggestions, of modest price, close to town. Any other suggestions are welcome! Are we missing a lot by staying in each place for 3-4 days?

suze Apr 7th, 2008 07:10 PM

I'm no expert on your destination, but I think it's better to give each place at least 3-4 days. Run your plans by your friends who live in Oslo (if they're willing to help you plan).

tower Apr 7th, 2008 08:55 PM

misty:

Bergen is a great town to spend some time in...I would recommend The Park Hotel, walking distance to the heart of town...In Oslo, the Gabelshaus in the embassy district is an ivy-covered old gem.
Enjoy!

stu t.

mistyal Apr 8th, 2008 11:03 AM

Thank you, Stu. I was actually considering the Park Hotel and now you've made it more definite. It was recommended in the Rough Guide, which I have found very helpful so far.

Marija Apr 8th, 2008 01:19 PM

I'm not quite sure how you're doing the Nutshell. If you're going from Myrdal to Flam and then taking the ferry to Bergen, you'll miss the Naeroyfjord between Flam and the Stalheim hotel. I thought that was the prettiest part.

We took the "ferry" from Balestrand to Bergen and it turned out to be a fast enclosed catamaran which wasn't fun. You have to stay inside.