Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Tuscany (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/tuscany-806835/)

littlerhody Sep 19th, 2009 11:27 AM

Tuscany

Hi, I'm new to this ,so please have patience. I'm planning my first trip abroad and need information. I want to travel to Tuscany and surrounding area in 2010. What is the best time of year to go, weatherwise. Average temperatures, rainfall, etc... and cost? In season vs off season. What other things should I look for , school vacations, should I plan on a week, 10 days or 2 weeks for this vacation. Any info will help. Thanks,
Littlerhody

Grinisa Sep 19th, 2009 11:51 AM

Tuscany itself is a fairly large region of Italy. By "surrounding area" does that mean you also want to see Umbria? Lazio? Liguria? What about Tuscany interests you? Do you want to spend a lot of time in Florence itself or do you prefer exploring the smaller hilltowns like Siena, San Gimignano, Pienza etc.? The cost will obviously depend on your length of stay, the type of accomodations you require, what mode of transportation you plan on using and the type and amount of food you usually eat on vacation. If you have a budget in mind, that would be helpful to know so we can help with hotels, restaurants etc. I think the best time to visit is May. Great weather and longer days. September/October is next best but then you are dealing with less hours of sunshine. June through August is hot and very crowded. Off season would be November through March, excepting for the two week period surrounding Easter. Yes, it's less crowded off season and the hotels less expensive, but the weather can be wet and bone chilling. Give us an idea of what interests you and I'm sure you'll receive lots of help.

littlerhody Sep 19th, 2009 12:28 PM