Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Turkey Trip Itinerary for 2001 - Feedback, please (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/turkey-trip-itinerary-for-2001-feedback-please-83303/)

Paule Aug 18th, 2000 05:19 AM

Turkey Trip Itinerary for 2001 - Feedback, please

I’m just beginning to plan a 3-week trip to Turkey for 2001, and I have my tentative itinerary. I’d appreciate feedback/suggestions on it. My husband and I can only travel during the summer; I’ve been told that August (especially later August) may be a slight improvement over July. I can push my trip to return just after Labor Day, but not later than that. We are “independent traveller” types --and I’m the obsessive planner! I’ve never taken a cruise before, but I’m leaning toward taking a gulet cruise in Turkey since it may be the best way to travel during the summer heat. <BR> <BR>I plan to leave the States on a Monday arriving on a Tuesday. The timing is specific, because the weeklong gulet cruises are Saturday to Saturday. <BR> <BR>Days 1 - 3 -- Istanbul <BR> <BR>Days 4 - 6 -- Cappadocia (flying from Istanbul). Pick up car rental. <BR> <BR>Day 7 -- Konya. <BR> <BR>Days 8 - 10 -- Antalya (visit Termessos, Aspendos) <BR> <BR>Day 11 -- Kas <BR>This is a Friday night, and we’ll be driving the next day to Marmaris, where we will get the cruise. Is this a doable trip, especially on a Saturday, or do we need to stay closer to Marmaris? We are dropping off the car in Marmaris prior to cruise. <BR> <BR>Days 12 - 18 -- Gulet Cruise, from Marmaris (cruising south toward Fethiye). <BR> <BR>Days 19 - 20 -- Selcuk. Take bus from Marmaris to Selcuk. (visit Ephesus). <BR> <BR>Days 21 - 22. Istanbul (flying from Izmir to Istanbul). <BR> <BR> <BR>I KNOW you’ll all have different opinions! But here are a couple of my thoughts and questions: <BR> <BR>1-- Some people have said that they liked Konya; others h